Established in 2010, Empower Charleston (previously Social Venture Partners Charleston) is the region’s foremost social collective of philanthropists who’ve pooled their resources and empowered 32 nonprofits to grow their unique impact through over $1.4M in funding and hundreds of volunteer hours. Focused on nonprofits throughout the Charleston and the Tri-country region, Empower Charleston connects philanthropists with diverse and global experiences to growing nonprofits who demonstrate transformational investment needs and are driving innovative approaches to some of the area’s most pressing problems.

Corporate/Foundation Partners

Empower Charleston is grateful for the support from the following Corporate and Foundations Partners.

Interested in becoming a Corporate Partner?

Empower Charleston operates under the aegis of the Coastal Community Foundation (CCF), the largest grant-making entity in South Carolina. CCF manages nearly $400 million in more than 700 funds established by individuals, families and organizations. Empower Charleston benefits from CCF’s strong relationships with hundreds of local nonprofits.

Learn More About CCF

What Our Partners Are Saying

Individual Partners

The lifeblood of Empower Charleston is the diverse set of Partners who volunteer countless hours and resources to drive impact throughout our region’s nonprofits.

Brady Anderson

Craig Ascue

Robert Becker

Josh Bell

Sarah Castle

Dave Considine

John Cooper

Megan Denton

Joseph DeGroff

Andrea & Martin Deputy

Ian Devine

Adam & Monica Fahrer

Erin Fisher

Margaret Grant

Steve Halleck

Stirling Halversen

Frank Haygood

Paul Heinauer

Thom Kephart

Elizabeth Jozefczyk

David Kimm

Paul Kohlheim

Davis & Stacie Marksbury

Donna & Scott Olsen

Alex Opoulos

Ford Perry

John Read

Shawn Saulsberry

Jerry Scheer

Kaye Smith

Alice Taylor

Eric Thome

Tony & Mary Tripeny

Kellye Whitaker

Grier & Jessica Williford

Advisory Board

Jessica Williford, Chair

Alice Taylor, Treasurer

Eric Thome, Vice Chair

Ian Devine, Secretary

Joe DeGroff

Shawn Saulsberry

Erin Fisher

Grier Williford, Investment Chair

Steve Halleck


Lindsey Ballenger- Program Director

Interested in becoming a Partner of Empower Charleston?